Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Canadian Biosafety Standards and Guidelines (CBSG)
First Edition

The Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) are pleased to release the 1st edition of the Canadian Biosafety Standards and Guidelines (CBSG). The CBSG 1st edition is now available electronically (below) and printed copies are also available upon request.

The CBSG 1st edition replaces the following biosafety standards and guidelines for human and terrestrial animal pathogens:

  • Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines 3rd Edition, 2004 (PHAC)
  • Containment Standards for Veterinary Facilities 1st Edition, 1996 (CFIA)
  • Containment Standards for Laboratories, Animal Facilities and Post Mortem Rooms Handling Prion Disease Agents, 2005 (CFIA)

For more information about the CBSG, contact us.


Date Modified: 2013-06-20